I swung my blade in a wide circle and cut several demons in half. A dagger narrowly missed me but as I ducked I got cut in the shoulder. Cursing wildly, I grabbed a pearl from my necklace and flung it somewhere in the crowd of demons. It must have exploded because suddenly, demons evaporated and a lightly wounded Jocelyn appeared. She shouted a thanks at me and slashed at more monsters. I grabbed another pearl off the necklace and flung it at the doorway. A large circle of demons disintegrated. A blade swung at me and I had to do a backflip to escape it. A gob of slime narrowly missed my head and I jabbed a nearby Ravener. Praying that my friends were still alive, I drew a small hieroglyph and a couple of demons became dolls. I kicked them away and continued fighting. Another pearl off my necklace and into the aid of a nearby shadowhunter. I had one pearl left. I did a spinning kick and kicked something's head off. An ugly lump of flesh was flung into another direction with another kick. I smashed my heel into a demon's face and sank my blade into another. Something's sword slashed at my side but revenge was taken on it instantly. Soon, I was standing on a pile of bodies. I decided to end it quickly. Leaping down from the pile, I embedded my blade deep into the ground and the entire place shuddered. Deep cracks appeared in the floor. Demons cried out in despair and I summoned the angel Grace, one of the seven who sit before God. Lucifer, who had been waiting patiently for the demons to win, screamed in frustration. "Curse you niece! You-" his screaming was cut off when a bright light surround the church. The demons disappeared, but not before one managed to sink its claws into my back. Suddenly, I felt all the pain from my injuries. I fell to the floor as my leg gave way and the wound in my shoulder started bleeding. My back felt like it was on fire but I managed to stand, leaning on my sword. The church was a mess, cracks in the ground an one of the walls looked like it was going to fall any minute. Closing my eyes before they reached the thousands of bodies on the ground, I raised my hand and will for peace and order. "Ma'at." I muttered and I understood why only Sadie had managed to do it for the previous centuries. It needed a lot of energy. When I opened my eyes again, I could barely stand. I finally brought myself to count the dead.




Leave a Reply.